Something Better

photo-1421809313281-48f03fa45e9f

God has challenged me recently to re-evaluate what it means to follow Him. What it means to be a Christian. He has been challenging me to go deeper, beyond the religion that we have created out of His love. Going to a personal, irrational relationship with the Creator of the world.

That is a big, obscure, convoluted idea to tackle, and it’s one that I am only starting to get a glimpse of. However, I have started thinking about what that would look like in the world. What would it look like to live in a full-force, undivided, passionate pursuit and obedience of the Creator?

In Acts 5, Luke writes about how the early believers would meet in Solomon’s Colonnade, a part of the Temple in Jerusalem. In verse 13, he writes about how the rest of the people viewed the believers:

“But no one else dared to join them, even though all the people had high regard for them.” ~Acts 5:13

The Christians were different and everyone could see that. They saw that they were unique, and they liked it, but they were too afraid to join. Why they were too afraid is a topic for another blog, but what I want to point out is that the Christians stood out.

They were weird. Everyone knew that they were following Jesus because of the way they acted. They were more than just really nice people that everyone liked. They were different.

I’ve been forced to ask myself, “Can other people tell that I’m a Christian simply by the way I live my life and how I interact with others? Or do I just blend in?” God calls me to acknowledge Him with my lips and with my actions. Actions go beyond the stuff I was taught in Sunday School. Actions go to how I treat that annoying customer at work, how I interact with my family, what I do in and out of the public eye.

As much as I want to fit in and go with the flow, because it’s easy and comfortable, God has called me to something bigger than me and, oh, so much better. He has called me to follow the narrow road that will take me outside of my comfort zone because He loves me. Following Jesus isn’t easy, and striving for a life-changing relationship with Him will cause me to stand out. And that’s good. Really, really good.

Blessings and love in Christ,

~Lindy

One thought on “Something Better

Leave a Reply

